RSA Student Awards and Virtual Workshops

RSA Student Design Awards:

Competition details

The RSA Student Design Awards (SDA) Competition is open to:

  1. All current Students ( Undergraduate/Postgraduate – MA & PhD)
  2. All Alumni (Graduates, MA & PhD – who graduated in the last year)

Submissions open 25 January 2021.

RSA Student Design Briefs

RSA SDA 2020-21 Virtual Workshop Series:

A series of online workshops that are designed to support students on their SDA journey.

Workshop 1: Peacebuilding Online
Nov 25 at 3:00 p.m. GMT  (10:00 a.m. EST)

Social media can be a tool for good, but increasing polarization and societal division put these benefits at risk. This interactive workshop run in partnership with Build Up will look at the ways technology can be a space not only for conflict prevention, but for active peacebuilding. You will explore the concepts of non-violent communications and digital conflict drivers to help you better understand existing work in this arena. This workshop is particularly focused on Brief 3: Bridging the Divide. ​​​​
Apply to attend here.

Workshop 2, a 2 -part series: Systems Design Innovation
Dec 1 and 8 at 12:30 p.m. GMT(7:30 a.m. EST)

This workshop series run in partnership with Circular Design Lab will take place over two weeks and allow you to better understand what it means to incorporate our “systems thinking” judging criteria. The workshop series will use pollution and clean air as the focus, so is well suited to those interested Brief 4: The Right to Breathe, but the approaches discussed are useful to all the briefs. Please only register if you are able to attend both sessions.
Apply to attend here.

Workshop 3: Participatory Design: (making it) informed, engaged & inclusive
Dec 4 at 2:00 p.m. GMT(9:00 a.m. EST)

This workshop run in partnership with Glasshouse will explore the value and methods of participatory design, essential to shaping informed and inclusive design proposals built on solid research. Through real life examples, discussion and co-design tasks, we will explore the role that effective engagement can play in: better understanding the context and brief; exploring need and opportunity; unleashing assets and creativity; and building interest, collaboration and investment.  The approaches discussed are useful to all the briefs.
Apply to attend here.